lensqosa.blogg.se

Download the new version for ios FreeFileSync 12.5
Download the new version for ios FreeFileSync 12.5






download the new version for ios FreeFileSync 12.5

My documents were all stored on Google Drive to facilitate working on different computers and locations so I used FFS to import a copy of those files to my new laptop. I have been able to use FFS to compare what was on my dead laptop and what was on my external backup drives (my terminology) and have recovered my images and editing work. I bought a disk reader (great investment) and have been able to recover my images from the failed laptop. It contained many images both RAW and edited. In my case my previous laptop died a sudden and unforeseen death. I am sure we all want to protect our images from loss and that is what this program has facilitated for me. This discussion sadly fell into a rabbit hole about correct terminology and its use. I use the term backup because to me that is the purpose of the drives and google drive for me. What I have chosen to synch is my backup external drive of images and google drive from the web. The software allows one way or two way synching. Getting back to the point of my original post I just wanted to share that I had found a free program that seemed great at synchronizing my backup external drives. I think that one project was fully as bad as half of my previous 13 years as an enterprise backup admin combined. One of those “never ever do that again” exercises. Fortunately that garbage EV never worked we’ll enough to go to production so the issue was ultimately avoided, albeit with much weeping and gnashing of teeth before the inevitable finally happened.

download the new version for ios FreeFileSync 12.5

We went round and round with a customer (law office) who wanted to merely sync their brand new Symantec Enterprise Vault to a remote location – over the Internet, no less – instead of backing it up. Sync is redundancy – not deletion protection, while backups are recoverability to a point in time (RPO / RTO).

download the new version for ios FreeFileSync 12.5

If I make a backup today, and delete all my files tomorrow, I can still restore files from the backup.Įxactly. This provides file redundancy in a similar way that a RAID array does, but neither are really a backup.Ī backup is a point-in-time copy of a set of files. If you accidently delete files from the source, then that deletion is propigated to the targets.








Download the new version for ios FreeFileSync 12.5